Thursday, June 14, 2012

Ranking Female First Ministers in Canada

I did a ranking of female first ministers in Canada a year ago and I thought I would update it.

I am ranking them based on person days governed - multiply the population by the number of the days in power
  1. Kim Campbell       Fed 3,786,000,000  132 days PC
  2. Christy Clark      BC  2,015,000,000  458 days Lib
  3. Alison Redford     Ab    915,000,000  251 days PC
  4. Rita Johnson       BC    715,500,000  217 days Socred
  5. Kathy Dunderdale   Nf    288,000,000  560 days PC
  6. Catherine Callbeck PEI   149,000,000 1353 days Lib
  7. Nellie Cournoyea   NWT    92,000,000 1469 days na
  8. Eva Aariak         Nu     42,900,000 1309 days na
  9. Pat Duncan         Yk     24,800,000  884 days Lib
A year ago the total was 5.3 billion days today it is 8 billion days.   One third of the overall time Canadians have been governed by a woman has been in the last year.  Since October 11 of 2011 we have had four female first ministers in office in Canada.

We had three female first ministers for 132 days in 1993.  Since March 14th 2011 we have had three or more female first ministers.   Given that it seems probable Christy Clark will be premier till May 14th next year, we will have 11 more months of at least three female first ministers in Canada.  I do not know how much longer Eva Aariak will be premier of Nunavut.

The only other woman who seems to have any potential to become a first minister is Pauline Marois in Quebec.   I have no idea how the election will go there or when it is likely to held.  Jean Charest could still hold out well into 2013 before he calls an election.

I noted last year that of the ones with a partisan leaning, the women have all been from the right or centre right.   Also interesting to note is that it has been the west and the north that have had the women in power.  Seven of 9 of them are from the west and north.  Kim Campbell is still the only Prime Minister to come from BC.

update on June 21st - I have underlined the women that have won a mandate in an election or in the case of NWT and Nunavut were selected to be premier by the non-partisan legislatures.

Interesting factoid, Eva Aariak is the second female premier for the area now covered by Nunavut.  This means for 7 years and 228 days they have had a female premier, more than a third of the time since Nelly Cournoyea came into office in Novmeber 14th 1991
Post a Comment