Wednesday, June 8, 2016

Looking at the 14 Vancouver Island Ridings for the 2017 BC Election

Currently there are 11 NDP, 2 Liberal and 1 Green MLAs from the island.    I think things will stay much though the Greens will most likely win Saanich North and the Islands and have a fighting chance to take Victoria Swan Lake.

The NDP has a chance to take Courtenay Comox since there is no Liberal incumbent and the boundaries have changed.

Islnd MLAs by year elected

2005  8

2009  3

2013  3

The ridings that have not changed due to the redistribution:

  • Saanich North and the Islands - Gary Holman NDP MLA since 2013 
  • Saanich South - Lana Popham NDP MLA since 2009
  • Victoria Swan Lake - Rob Flemming NDP MLA since 2005
  • Cowichan Valley - Bill Routley NDP MLA since 2009
  • Nanaimo North Cowichan - Doug Routley NDP MLA 2005
  • Nanaimo - Leonard Krog NDP MLA since 2005 and from 1991-96
  • North Island - Claire Trevana NDP MLA since 2005

The ridings that have changed due to the redistribution:

  • Oak Bay Gordon Head - Andrew Weaver Green MLA since 2013
  • Victoria Beacon Hill - Carole James NDP MLA since 2005
  • Esquimalt Metchosin (Esquimalt Royal Roads) - Maurine Karagianis NDP MLA since 2005
  • Langford Juan de Fuca (Juan de Fuca) - John Horgan NDP MLA since 2005
  • Parksville Qualicum - MIchelle Stilwell Liberal MLA since 2013
  • Mid Island Pacific Rim (Alberni Pacific Rim) - Scott Fraser NDP MLA since 2005
  • Courtenay Comox (Comox Valley) - Don McRae Liberal MLA since 2009 but not running for re-election
Post a Comment