Thursday, May 14, 2009

New MLAs

No matter what happened, there would be have to be six new MLAs after this election because of the new seats. In total we have 23 new MLAs elected in this election, 27% of the total of the legislature. There is a small potential in the recounts for this to rise to 25.

The Liberals have 17 new MLAs out of 49 elected, a bit more than one third of the total of the caucus. Six of the new MLAs are women. Being able to renew this many seats after two terms is an amazing accomplishment for the government. The government will look and feel different that it did in the last term. It also insulates the Liberals from too big a turn over in MLAs in 2013 if there has been a leadership change.

The NDP have a total of seven new MLAs out of a caucus of 36, about one fifth of the total. Given how many NDP MLAs were elected for the first time in 2005, it is not surprise that there were as many returning NDP MLAs. To see how the NDP affirmative action worked, one only need to note that five of the seven new NDP MLAs are women this time around.

Interestingly, the total of returning MLAs for the Liberals and the NDP is roughly the same, 32 Liberals and 29 New Democrats.

  • John Slater – Boundary Similkameen
  • Don McRae – Liberal – Comox Valley
  • Douglas Horne – Coquitlam Burke Mountain
  • Terry Lake – Kamloops North Thompson
  • Norm Letnick – Kelowna Lake Country
  • Steve Thomson – Kelowna Mission
  • Marc Dalton – Maple Ridge Mission
  • Naomi Yamamoto – North Vancouver Lonsdale
  • Jane Ann Thornthwaite – North Vancouver Seymour
  • Pat Pimm – Peace River North
  • Rob Howard – Richmond Centre
  • Stephanie Cadieux – Surrey Panorama
  • Margaret MacDiarmid – Vancouer Fairview
  • Mary McNeil - Vancouver False Creek
  • Kash Heed – Vancouver Fraserview
  • Moira Stillwell – Vancouver Langara
  • Ben Stewart – Westside Kelowna


  • Kathy Corrigan - Burnaby Deer Lake
  • Bill Routley - Cowichan Valley
  • Michelle Mungall – Nelson Creston
  • Dawn Black – New Westminster
  • Lana Popham – Saanich South
  • Doug Donaldson – Stikine
  • Mable Elmore – Vancouver Kensington

No comments: