Tuesday, October 1, 2013

Since the last time I looked at this Christy Clark was re-elected in BC.   I think it is important to continue paying attention to this because I think we are going through a fundamental shift in Canadian politics.   We have now had six female first ministers in Canada for almost eight months.  We will drop one of them shortly because Eva Aariak has stated she does not intend on being premier after the election in Nunavut is done later this month.  

Since the first time I looked at this a bit more than two years ago four women have won general elections.   This is also a dramatic change from the past.  Interestingly two of the more dramatic wins in Canadian history were by Alison Redford and Christy Clark.   

Here is how they all stack up by time in office - bold means currently in office

  1. Eva Aariak         Nunavut 1788 days
  2. Nellie Cournoyea   NWT     1469 days
  3. Catherine Callbeck PEI     1353 days
  4. Kathy Dunderdale   NF      1033 days
  5. Christy Clark      BC       932 days
  6. Pat Duncan         Yukon    884 days
  7. Alison Redford     Alberta  725 days
  8. Pauline Marois     Quebec   377 days
  9. Kathleen Wynne     Ontario  232 days
  10. Rita Johnson       BC       217 days
  11. Kim Campbell       Federal  132 days

Each time I have looked at this I have considered how many person days each first minister has governed for - this is time in office multiplied by population governed.    I think that in many ways it is a better measure of the relative impact of women in politics.  A little bit more than two months ago Christy Clark finally passed Kim Campbell by this measure.   Recently Kathleen Wynne and Pauline Marois passed ahead of Alison Redford and Wynne passed Marois today.

  1. Christy Clark      BC  4,101,000,000 Lib
  2. Kim Campbell       Fed 3,786,000,000 PC
  3. Kathleen Wynne     Ont 2,982,000,000 Lib
  4. Pauline Marois     Que 2,979,000,000 PQ
  5. Alison Redford     Ab  2,645,000,000 PC
  6. Rita Johnson       BC    715,500,000 Socred
  7. Kathy Dunderdale   Nf    532,000,000 PC
  8. Catherine Callbeck PEI   149,000,000 Lib
  9. Nellie Cournoyea   NWT    92,000,000 na
  10. Eva Aariak         Nu     57,000,000 na
  11. Pat Duncan         Yk     24,800,000 Lib
bold won an election, underlined currently in power

It has been more than year now that half of Canadians have lived in a province or territory with a woman as premier.

No comments: